You can help

Our current goal is to raise awareness of the following:

Highly radioactive nuclear waste may begin to be transported to the Revell Lake area within the next few years, without meaningful consent from those who will be directly affected.

Who could be directly affected? Think big, then bigger.

say no to nuclear waste image
  • residents, landowners and tourism operators within 200 km of the disposal site could be directly affected by decreasing property values and tourist visits
  • all living things downstream of the disposal site, if radioactive material escapes into the water; this includes the Wabigoon and the Turtle River watersheds, Winnipeg’s water supply, and eventually Hudson Bay
  • all people living near the transportation route all the way from southern Ontario and including Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, in case of accident

The Nuclear Waste Management Organization (NWMO), in their documentation, alludes only to consent from residents of Ignace, 40 km from the potential disposal site.

Contact your elected representatives

Here is a sample letter in MS Word that you can use or modify if you wish.

Chiefs & Councils
Find community contact info with this Map
(with thanks to Chiefs of Ontario)

Municipal leaders in Northwestern Ontario
Dennis Brown – Mayor of Atikokan
Kevin Holland – Mayor of Conmee Municipality
Greg Wilson – Mayor of Dryden
Andrew Hallikas – Mayor of Fort Frances
Wendy Wright – Reeve of Gillies Township
Kevin Kahoot – Mayor of the Township of Ear Falls
Penny Lucas – Mayor of Ignace
Daniel Reynard – Mayor of Kenora
Erwin Butikofer – Mayor of Neebing Municipality
Jim Vezina – Mayor of O’Connor Township
Lucy Kloosterhuis – Mayor of Oliver-Paipoonge Municipality
Dwight Monck – Mayor of Pickle Lake Township
Deborah Ewald – Mayor of Rainy River
Fred Mota – Mayor of Municipality of Red Lake
Wendy Landry – Mayor of Shuniah Municipality

City of Thunder Bay Mayor and Council
Bill Mauro – Mayor of Thunder Bay
Albert Aiello – Councillor
Mark Bentz – Councillor
Shelby Ch’ng – Councillor
Andrew Foulds – Councillor
Cody Fraser – Councillor
Brian Hamilton – Councillor
Trevor Giertuga – Councillor
Rebecca Johnson – Councillor
Brian Mckinnon – Councillor
Kirsten Oliver – Councillor
Aldo Ruberto – Councillor
Peng You – Councillor

Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs)
Sol MamakwaKiiwetinoong
Greg RickfordKenora-Rainy River /
– Greg Rickford is also Minister of Energy, Mines, Northern Development and Indigenous Affairs
Judith Monteith-FarrellThunder Bay Atikokan
Michael GravelleThunder Bay Superior North

Jeff Yurek – Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Members of Federal Parliament (MPs)
Patty HajduThunder Bay-Superior North
Marcus PowlowskiThunder Bay-Rainy River
Eric MelilloKenora

Jonathan Wilkinson – Minister of the Environment and Climate Change (Federal)

The above lists are not comprehensive, and cover only Northwestern Ontario. Those on the transportation route to the east and south are also affected, so we encourage you to make yourself heard! Contact us if you need assistance.

Write a letter to the Editor

Letters to the Editor may seem old fashioned, but they are still widely read and effective. Make your voice heard!

Thunder Bay Chronicle-Journal – Submit a Letter to the Editor
Fort Frances Times – Letters to the Editor
Kenora Miner & News – Letters

Post our poster

Download an 8.5 x 11″ PDF of the Say No! poster. Post it in your window, on your mailbox, and on local bulletin boards.

Download me!

Consider a donation

Our publicity campaigns are volunteer powered, but we need funds for materials, website hosting and postage. Please donate via the following avenues:

If you do not require a charitable receipt:
Our GoFundMe page – a quick way to donate, if you don’t need a charitable receipt

If you require a charitable receipt:
The Demeter Project, a registered charitable organization, focuses on collaborative projects for the purpose of environmental education. Donations via The Demeter Project will receive a charitable receipt. You may donate in three ways:
Via their Canada Helps link at: The Demeter Project. Select the “We the Nuclear Free North” fund.
By mailing a cheque, with “We the Nuclear Free North” in the memo, by mail to:
The Demeter Project
Box 282, North Bay, P1B 8E6
Or, via Interac eTransfer to
You will receive a charitable receipt.

Environment North promotes sustainable communities and the conservation of resources in Northern Ontario. Environment North also supports We the Nuclear Free North by accepting donations to be directed to them. These go to support We the Nuclear Free North’s publicity activities. You may donate in two ways:
By mailing a cheque, with “We the Nuclear Free North” in the memo, to:
Environment North
PO Box 10307
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T8
Or, via Interac eTransfer to . Add a note specifying that the donation is for “We the Nuclear Free North.”
You will receive a charitable receipt.

Sign our petition

Over 4,000 concerned individuals have signed the petition, Stop the Disposal of Nuclear Waste in Northwestern Ontario, posted by Environment North in late 2019. Signing shows your support, and provides a handy way to receive updates. Go to the Petition.

sign the petition button

Ally with us!

Can you offer further support to our cause? Do you represent an organization? Are you a concerned individual? Are you establishing a local group? Would you like to be part of a working group? Do you have an idea? Please contact us by clicking the button below. Time is of the essence.

Create your website with
Get started